Achievement and Heritage Awards

2016 Honorees: Ron Chernow, Thomas Kail, and Lin-Manuel Miranda

The National Archives Foundation presented Pulitzer Prize-winning historian Ron Chernow; Tony Award-winning film and theater director Thomas Kail; and Tony and Pulitzer Prize-winning composer, lyricist, and performer Lin-Manuel Miranda with its 2016 Records of Achievement Award at its annual Gala on September 25, 2016. The award honors their collective work on the Tony, Grammy, and Pulitzer Prize Award-winning Broadway musical “Hamilton,” inspired by the 2004 biography of Alexander Hamilton by Mr. Chernow. The Broadway musical was directed by Mr. Kail, and was written by and stars Mr. Miranda.

The Records of Achievement Award is an annual tribute given by the National Archives Foundation to individuals whose work has cultivated a broader national awareness of the history and identity of the United States through the use of original records. Through their work, recipients educate, enrich, and inspire a deeper appreciation of our country, its ideals and its aspirations. Previous recipients of the Foundation’s awards include: Taylor Branch, Tom Brokaw, Ken Burns, the late John Hope Franklin, Robert Edsel, Annette Gordon-Reed, Brian Lamb and C-SPAN, Jacqueline Badger Mars, David McCullough, James McPherson, David M. Rubenstein, and Steven Spielberg.

Learn more about the 2016 Records of Achievement Award Ceremony and Gala.

The 2016 Records of Achievement Award Ceremony and Gala is made possible in part by our Presenting Sponsors AT&T and David M. Rubenstein; as well as Governor Jim and Janet Blanchard, Edgeworth Economics, Steve and Laura Gates, Deborah and Michael Salzberg, and Marvin F. Weissberg.

The Foundation also wishes to thank our 2016 Gala Committee for their support: Governor Jim and Janet Blanchard, James W. Cicconi, Deborah Ratner Salzberg, Jennifer Warren, and Marvin F. Weissberg.

Past Recipients of the Records of Achievement Award:
  • Taylor Branch (2015)
  • Robert Edsel (2014)
  • Steven Spielberg (2013)
  • David M. Rubenstein (2011)
  • Ken Burns (2010)
  • Annette Gordon-Reed (2009)
  • James McPherson (2008)
  • John Hope Franklin (2007)
  • Brian P. Lamb and C-SPAN (2006)
  • Tom Brokaw (2005)
  • David McCullough (2004)

Heritage Award

The Heritage Award takes its name from the “Heritage” sculpture outside the National Archives Building and recognizes individuals, corporations, and organizations whose deeds are consistent with the Foundation’s mission of educating, enriching, and inspiring a deeper appreciation of our country’s heritage. The Foundation’s Heritage Award was presented in 2012 to philanthropist Jacqueline Badger Mars.